walterholidays / Bosnia



Bosnia, orsometimes called Bosnia–Herzegovina, and often known informally as Bosnia, is a country in Southeastern Europe, located within the Balkan Peninsula. Sarajevo is the capital and largest city. Bosnia and Herzegovina is an almost landlocked country – it has a narrow coast at the Adriatic Sea, about 20 kilometres (12 miles) long surrounding the town of Neum. It is bordered by Croatia to the north, west and south; Serbia to the east; and Montenegro to the southeast, sharing a maritime border with Italy. In the central and eastern interior of the country the geography is mountainous, in the northwest it is moderately hilly, and the northeast is predominantly flatland. The inland, Bosnia, is a geographically larger region and has a moderate continental climate, with hot summers and cold and snowy winters. The southern tip, Herzegovina, has a Mediterranean climate and plain topography.

The country is one of the most frequently visited countries in the region, projected to have the third highest tourism growth rate in the world until 2020. Bosnia and Herzegovina is regionally and internationally renowned for its natural environment and cultural heritage inherited from six historical civilizations, its cuisine, winter sports, its eclectic and unique music, architecture and its festivals, some of which are the largest and most prominent of their kind in Southeastern Europe. The country is home to three main ethnic groups or, officially, constituent peoples, as specified in the constitution. Bosniaks are the largest group of the three, with Serbs second and Croats third. A native of Bosnia and Herzegovina, regardless of ethnicity, is usually identified in English as a Bosnian

Good to Know

Bosni and Herzegovina
Visa Requirements
Visa in not needed for EU citizens.
Languages spoken
Bosnian, Serbian, Croatian
Currency used
KM- convertible mark)
Area (km2)
88,361 km2


In Bosnia and Herzegovina the smallest administrative unit is the municipality (“opština/општина” or “općina/опћина” in the official languages and scripts of the country). Prior to the 1992–95 Bosnian War there were 109 municipalities in what was then Socialist Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Ten of these formed the area of the capital Sarajevo.

After the war the number of municipalities was increased to 143, grouped in the following way:

  • 79 municipalities constitute the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (FBiH), which comprises 51% of the country’s total territory. The municipalities within the Federation are grouped into ten cantons.
  • 64 municipalities constitute the Republika Srpska (RS), which comprises 49% of the country’s total territory