walterholidays / Kosovo



 officially the Republic of Kosovo, is a partially recognised state and disputed territory in Southeastern Europe. Kosovo is landlocked in the center of the Balkans and bordered by the uncontested territory of Serbia to the north and east, the Republic of Macedonia to the southeast, Albania to the southwest and Montenegro to the west. 

Kosovo has a lower-middle-income economy and has experienced solid economic growth over the last decade by international financial institutions, and has experienced growth every year since the onset of the 2008 global financial crisis. Kosovo is a member of the International Monetary Fund, World Bank, Regional Cooperation Council and has applied for membership of Interpol and for observer status in the Organisation of the Islamic Cooperation.

Good to Know

Visa Requirements
Visa in not needed for EU citizens.
Languages spoken
Albanian, Serbian
Currency used
Area (km2)
10,908 km2


municipality is the basic administrative division in Kosovo and constitutes the only level of power in local governance. There are 38 municipalities in Kosovo; 27 of which have Albanian majority, 10–Serb and 1–Turkish. After the 2013 Brussels Agreement between the governments of Kosovo and Serbia, Serbia recognised the municipalities and the Republic’s governance of the territory, and agreed to create a Community of Serb Municipalities, which will operate within the Kosovo legal framework.